Selenium Testing ServiceNow – A Journey

For several months now, I’ve been trying to automate the development testing for my job as a ServiceNow developer.  It was not as easy as I thought it’d be.  There have been many snags along the way, from page timeouts, how to interact with the ServiceNow forms (and Service Catalog pages), brittle tests, and just learning how to organize this process.

I’ve talked with many others who have wanted to automate testing for ServiceNow but don’t know where to start and don’t want to spend a lot of money on certain tools.  Hopefully, I can help provide that by sharing my experiences using Selenium, which is free, and SauceLabs, which has a free plan to start.

Prerequisites

  1. Download and Install the latest SDK of Java – currently Java 8u31
  2. Download and Install Maven (Note: You can use ANT or Gradle, but I’ll be using Maven)
  3. Download and Install GitHub, and create an account if you don’t already have one.  You’ll need it to download or clone my repository
  4. Download and Install an IDE.  I use NetBeans.  I’ve tried Eclipse, but didn’t really like it.

Once you have all that done, you’re ready to get started!

2 thoughts on “Selenium Testing ServiceNow – A Journey

  1. I am developing test plans with servicenow and have run into a snag, hopefully you have experienced this and can help. I’m on a list collection, my script enters a value, how do you get the list to display the value. If I do this manually the collection automatically detects what you are typing and displays the value. when I run my script, I cannot get this to work. I have the after part working where I select the value and add it, it’s the entering text and clicking “enter”

Leave a comment