Baugs x Baugs

Meaning behind the title: the serialized manga “Hunter x Hunter” goes on hiatus quite frequently, and stays on it for lengthy periods of time.  And that’s exactly what I’ve been on – a lengthy hiatus from blogging.

Full disclosure: I’ve really just been consumed with other things in life.  My kids are now five, three, and three, and a lot happens during those years.  I’m almost up to ten years of marriage, and you don’t get there by accident or by ignoring your wife (which at times, I was prone to do so I could work/learn things online).  I spend my lunches at the gym, which has drastically improved my health and strength.  I’ve also spent more time studying the Bible than before, so my class on Wednesday night is full of fun facts for the 4th and 5th graders who show up for it.  And, of course, I’m still involved with the JustLead program at church (and I’d even like to help out more than once a week).  Finally, my board game hobby has turned to legacy games with my friends, and I’ve been playing Pandemic Legacy Season 1 (which we completed) and Seafall (which we’re not even halfway through) whenever I have the time.  And I’m really looking forward to Pandemic Legacy Season 2, Charterstone, and Gloomhaven, which I should start on later this year.

Excuses, excuses.  Lame, sure.  But given that Knowledge 17 is upon us, and I spent some time two weeks ago at Generate NYC in New York City learning about front-end development, I figured it was time to dust off the blog and get back into a regular schedule of posting content.

What kind of content?

  1. We’re in the middle of an HR project…so I probably won’t post too much in detail about it.
  2. Ditto on a Cybersecurity/Vulnerability effort.  Probably not going to share much on it.
  3. Part of the HR project is a Service Portal…which I will be mentioning how’s on that as I learn how to develop within the service portal paradigm.
  4. Recruiting and college football analysis, since my personal dev instance has been using the 247 Sports RSS feed for data on recruits and I’m starting to have the ability to generate some interesting reports on ratings and talent on teams.
  5. And, as always, miscellaneous solutions to problems I see either in the community or things I work on that are just neat.

Finally, this won’t be regular content, but I’ll be posting some updates on things I learn at Knowledge 17.  I’m signed up for mostly labs, but since I get those done early typically, I’ll probably find a break out session or two to sneak into at the last minute.

Here’s my tentative schedule:

Tuesday: Working with Webhooks, Advanced Orchestration, Automated Testing Framework*.

Wednesday: ServiceNow Command Line Interface, Speeding up Delivery Time with Web Dev Tools, Planning and Developing for Mobile, Composing reusable widgets.

Thursday: Drive Service Efficiency with Knowledge, Integrating Third Party APIs…and relaxing by the pool the rest of the day.

Friday: Heading back to K-Town

*Yes, I know that may seem odd since I do my own automated testing.  This is more to evaluate the ServiceNow tool and it’s strengths and weaknesses vs. my own methods.  If this is something I can easily teach to my co-workers and QA analysts, I’ll recommend a shift to it and try and move my legacy tests (which are close to 1000 nightly tests now that HR is tested) into ServiceNow directly.  I imagine it has it’s own strengths and weaknesses and I’ll end up with some sort of hybrid approach to testing.  It’s good not to have all of your eggs in one basket.

I’m looking forward to a fun week in Orlando.

Leave a Reply

